April 2013 General Conference Preview, reviewing Oct 2012 General Conference

LDS-Mormon-general-conference-info-graphic-apr-2013It’s been 6 months since the last General Conference of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. The leadership of the Church has gathered at Salt Lake, and in a few hours, the first session will begin. Ever since I first became interested in the Church, General Conference has been one of the highlights for me. Even before I was a member, I found the talks to be uplifting and informative. For more on what Conference is, I would check out my last General Conference preview.   https://garybraham.wordpress.com/2012/10/05/general-conference-preview/ The Church has released an interesting graphic about last years Conference.

The speakers aren’t given a topic ahead of time, so it’s always interesting to see what they have picked, and whether or not a theme emerges.  Depending where you are in life, different people are probably going to be hit by each speaker differently.  That’s also one of the great things about Conference.  No matter who you are, or what you are thinking about, there is always going to be something you can relate to your situation.

Last year it seemed to me there were a lot of talks on forgiveness, talks on service.  I try to listen to the whole Conference a few times after it has ended to see if I pick up on anything else, or to just remind myself what goals I might have set during the last one.

My role within the Church has also changed since last Conference.  I have been released from my calling as a Young Mens counselor and Scoutmaster a little over a month ago.  Just after Christmas, I was called to be the Ward Mission Leader.  So now my role is to coordinate with the missionaries and the ward to help bring in and retain new members.   Having this new role could cause me to view Conference differently, but I’ve always been interested in missionary work.

Speaking of missionaries, the biggest bombshell of last falls Conference was the lowering of the age for missionary service.  I didn’t appreciate it as much at the time, but in terms of what people were talking about after Conference, this was the big announcement.  The implications are going to be pretty big.  Because Young Men can now go on their mission right after high school, the thought is a lot more will be going.  This also puts more of an emphasis on getting ready to go, both spiritually and financially.   They don’t have to go earlier, but many of them will.  In our ward, we have two brothers who are getting ready to go on their mission.  And one who is out right now in Wisconsin.   It’s a pretty exciting time for missionary work, and I’m glad to be a part of it in my own way.

I’ve got a few hours left to take care of some stuff around the house before it’s time to get started.  I’ll try to do some more updates as the day progresses.

You can tune in here http://www.lds.org/general-conference/watch?lang=eng

About garybraham

I grew up in Mahopac NY, studied geology at Colgate University. I've moved to Queensbury NY to teach HS earth science. I also coach soccer and wrestling, take pictures at local sporting events, and am the Scoutmaster for the Glens Falls ward of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. My wife and I will be married 5 years this October, and we have a two and a half year old little girl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

